Simple Healthy PB & Banana Sandwich

image

One never quite fully appreciates the value of peanut butter until they become vegan/vegetarian. Here’s a simple, 4-ingredient recipe for a delicious peanut butter and banana sandwich.

It may come as a surprise to you, but there was a time when I didn’t even know how to make a PB&J sandwich. It wasn’t that I was lazy; food just always tasted so good when it was made by my mother or father, plus I didn’t believe that making my own food was as easy as I am now realizing it is. Gradually, I started to learn the ways of simple sandwhich making, and before I knew it, I was a peanut-butter-and-          sandwhich expert.

If you are here, you have probably already discovered the wonders and necessity of peanut- and other nut-butters for the happiness and health of a meat-free life style. With that, you have probably already conjured up a peanut butter sandwich very much like this one.

This “recipe” is more of an inspiration for not-boring peanut butter sandwiches, as opposed to some of the other fancier recipes I have shared.

If you have not yet discovered the joy of peanut butter , I hope to have unlocked the wondrous door of nut-butter-and-fruit-slash-seed opportunity for you and your appetite.

Here it is:

Ingredients:

2 slices 100% Whole Grain bread
1 banana (or apple or other serving of fruit)
1 serving of peanut or other nut butter (about 2 tbsp; your average peanut butter spread quantity)
2 tbsp sunflower seeds or other favorite seed or nut (about 1 serving; again, use your judgment)

To Do:

1. Toast bread slices.
2. Place bread slices on plate.
3. Scoop out peanut butter with a knife and spread evenly atop both bread slices.
4. Thinly slice banana into about 1/4 inch slices. Place banana slices flat and evenly on top of each piece of buttered bread.
5. Scoop up seeds (I just scoop with my hand) and sprinkle atop the bananas.
6. Enjoy with a side of vegetables to help balance the meal (I recommend baby carrots).

I hope you have found inspiration with this simple recipe! It’s the first of my “how to be a college vegan” series.

One Love,
THH

Leave a Reply

